Music of the Month – October ’14 Part 2

Music of the Month – October ’14 Part 2

We’re already half way into October, and you KNOW that cold front will be upon us by Halloween. In the meanwhile, enjoy the rest of the traditionally fall weather before it’s too late. Here are some tunes to help with that process.

After much confusion regarding the shelving/postponing of the next A$AP Mob album, the crew’s general Rocky took the opportunity to drop the new single “Multiply,” which also “features” Juicy J. UK grime veteran Skepta also got into the A$AP movement by featuring Young Lord on his new track “It Ain’t Safe.” Rome Fortune dropped a new mixtape called Small VVorld, and the opening track “The Experiment” featuring OG Maco is one of the standouts.

Power duo Run The Jewels has released another single off their upcoming sophomore album, the energetic “Close Your Eyes and Count To Fuck,” which features none other than former Rage Against The Machine frontman Zack de la Rocha. Jay Rock’s new release provides a stark contrast to TDE label mate Kendrick Lamar’s recent positivity, and is fittingly titled “Parental Advisory.” Production duo Party Supplies teamed up with longtime collaborator Action Bronson and Montreal’s Black Atlass on “The Light In The Addict.”

Les Sins, Toro Y Moi’s dance driven alter ego, dropped the Nate Salman assisted “Why,” the second single off the upcoming album Michael, and Shura provided us with some lovely ’80s-reminiscent synth pop to also dance to. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, the band fronted by one of Oasis’ legendary and infamous Gallagher brothers, is still keeping it very Brit-Rock through their new track “In The Heat Of The Moment.”

Scottish post-rock poster boys Mogwai have come through with the excellent “Teenage Exorcist,” which surprisingly features vocals prominently, quite the departure from their past material. Conneticut’s Ovlov channeled the ’90s well with the fuzzy “Ohmu Shell,” and Majical Cloudz returns to action with the gorgeous tenor-sampling “Your Eyes.”

Edmonton brother/sister electronic duo Tennyson keeps it dreamy and airy on their new track “With You,” and Mike Will Made It and new OVO signee iLoveMakonnen wish us well on their new slow jam. Hailing from Fort Worth, Texas, mysterious crooner Leon Bridges signs the playlist off with “Coming Home,” bathing us in warm tones and his throwback Sam Cooke-reminiscent voice.